Car accidents are an unfortunate reality for even the safest of drivers. If you get into a car accident, the associated costs can add up quickly. Medical expenses, property damage, time taken off work, and more can all result in a significant amount of money that you may be unable to cover. If the accident was not your fault, it may not seem fair that you are stuck paying for these expenses. Read on and speak with a Pike County, KY car accident lawyer to learn how you can seek compensation for property damage after a car accident in Kentucky.

Is Kentucky an At-Fault State?

In an at-fault state, liability must be determined in every car accident. The liable party and their insurance company are required to cover the medical and injury-related expenses of any victims, as well as property damage, loss of income, and more.

In a no-fault state, identifying the responsible party is not as important because drivers first go to their own insurers. All drivers first file a claim with their insurance company to receive compensation for medical bills. Kentucky is a no-fault state, so the victim of a car accident must seek compensation through their insurance.

How Can You Collect Compensation for Property Damage in Kentucky?

Although no-fault laws state that drivers involved in an accident must file with their own insurance, the only costs that can be covered are those related to injuries sustained. They can receive damages to cover expenses like an ambulance ride, hospital visit, physical therapy, rehabilitation, medication, etc. But what about property damage?

Property damage is the one factor of an auto accident in a no-fault state that is determined by who caused the crash. Kentucky drivers are required by law to carry a minimum amount of driver’s insurance. The minimum is as follows.

  • $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 for uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 for uninsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $10,000 for personal injury protection per accident
  • $10,000 for property damage liability per accident

If you were driving on the highway and the driver behind you was texting on their phone and rear-ended you, they are liable for the accident. If you were injured, you would approach your insurance company to cover the costs of your injuries. However, the physical damage to your vehicle will be covered by the liable driver’s insurance. Once you file a claim or lawsuit the $10,000 in property damage liability insurance (or more) that they have can be used to cover your expenses.

If you are filing a claim or lawsuit against the responsible party it is important that you first acquire the skills and knowledge of an attorney. They can help you navigate the legal process and ensure your rights are protected during your case.